To my great, great, great, grand daughter…

You came to mind this morning

a hundred years from me,

My daughter’s

daughter’s

daughter….

a hundred years from me.

There’s some things I  want to tell you

Bout  things  that shouldn’t be.

about the world

you woke up in this morning.

100 years from me…..

I think about my grandpa,

and his grandpa too

I wonder if they ever

gave much thought

bout the things

they’d say and do

the choices that  generation made

are landing at  my feet

We used to have 4 foot of top soil

Now it’s measured in inches


And now our leaders  spend like drunken fools

  you’ll be picking up the tab

I want you to know I wasn’t for it

I spoke out  for what it’s worth

“We’re  sorry” just don’t cut it,

hollow words

to my ears they sound.

We’ve got to live with a long term view

if we hope you’ll be around….

You came to mind this morning

a hundred years from me,

My daughter’s

daughter’s

daughter….

a hundred years from me….

_____________________________

I  wrote this poem  Fathers day of 2009 so you may have seen this one before. I was reading some poetry my mom wrote this afternoon about her family and it  got me to thinking. DM

____________________________________________________________________

You may have seen this video before, especially if you’re a long time reader of my blog.

It’s worth watching again if you haven’t seen it in a while.

it’s called “Generations” by Sarah Groves…

This line makes me think every time

“Generations will reap what I sow,

I can pass on, a curse or a blessing, to those I will never know…”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “To my great, great, great, grand daughter…”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    That’s beautiful – even the second time around! :)
    _______________________________
    Good morning Cheryl. Hope you’re feeling better! DM

  2. writewild Says:

    Thank you for the reminder of the legacy we leave. We need to find a way to pipe Grove’s song into the Congress on a regular basis.
    __________________________________________
    Now that is a great idea! DM

  3. singlemamalife Says:

    Such a beautiful poem!!
    _________________________
    You’re welcome. Thanks for leaving a comment! DM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

